Home > Basal Cell Carcinoma, Efudex treatment, Efudix treatment, Fluorouracil, Mohs surgery, skin cancer > Basal Cell Carcinoma and Efudix – what I’ve learnt …

Basal Cell Carcinoma and Efudix – what I’ve learnt …

Not much change in terms of the appearance of my nose since my last post – still a little pink (and more obvious if I’m hot) but, not much to write home about. It’s clearly now just a matter of waiting – I’ve got sensitive skin at the best of times and the skin on my poor ‘ole nose has had quite an assault of late so it’s no wonder it’s taking a while to calm down.  Patience is clearly the key. The main thing is, my treatment is over and I’m well on the road to recovery.

It’s been quite a journey and I’ve learnt a number of things along the way:

  1. Basal Cell Carcinoma is the most common type of skin cancer
  2. It’s considered malignant despite the fact that it rarely metastatises or results in death
  3. Basal Cell Carcinoma is the most common form of cancer in Europe,  Australia and USA
  4. Around 3 out of 10 Caucasians develop Basal Cell Carcinoma in their lifetime. That’s quite a statistic!
  5. Instances of Basal Cell Carcinoma are on the increase in the UK – despite increased sun awareness?!  Let’s not forget that basal cells are very slow growing and occurence could be linked to a sun burn in childhood
  6. Sun bed users are 70% more likely to develop a Basal Cell Carcinoma before the age of 40.  If that’s not a reason to stop using sunbeds, I don’t know what is!  There are some fabulous fake tan products out now if a tan is your thing
  7. There are a number of potential treatments for Basal Cell Carcinoma including excision, Mohs micrographic surgery, electrodesication, cryosurgery, radiotherapy, photodynamic therapy and ‘topical treatment’ with Fluorouracil!
  8. Fluorouracil comes in many guises (it has a number of different brand names): Efudix, Efudex (the cause of much confusion on my part when I first started this blog!), Carac and Fluoroplex.
  9. Fluorouracil is used to treat actinic/solar keratoses (a pre-malignant skin condition) as well as Basal Cell Carcinoma.

    10. Whilst the effects of Efudix treatment aren’t particularly pleasant, they’re not necessarily totally unbearable. As I’ve said all along, I count myself lucky that I haven’t had to treat my entire face with Efudex and that the effects were manageable.

I guess the main lesson I take away from this whole journey is that Efudix is prescribed for a reason and however unpleasant the treatment is, it’s better than the alternative. So, if it’s been prescribed to you, do the sensible thing and start applying it today.  Good luck with your journey!

Efudex cream for the treatment of Basal Cell Carcinoma

Efudix/Efudex/Fluourouracil cream

 

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

