Home > Basal Cell Carcinoma, Efudex treatment, Efudix treatment, Fluorouracil, skin cancer > Another Efudex photo and another smile!

Another Efudex photo and another smile!

Fluroracil Efudex treatment follow-up for Basal Cell Carcinoma on nose

Another smile at the wonders of Efudix cream!

A big, big picture and a big smile! Okay, so my nose still looks a little pink but the scabs have now fully gone and my nose no longer itches. And I’m happy that my Efudix journey is all but at an end. Who would have thought, looking at this, that just a few days ago my nose was red, blotchy and crusty from the Efudix Fluorouracil cream. It’s a strange substance – it took a week to take hold, reeked havoc on my nose when it did and within a few days of stopping the treatment, my skin’s approaching something near normal.

So, hopefully now any pre-cancerous skin cells that were on my nose have been killed off and my nose is taking its time to recover from the assault of the Efudix cream.  I can’t wait to have a facial and really treat my poor old nose.

I’ve no idea how long it’s going to take before my nose returns to the colour it was pre-Efudex – my dermatologist said is dependent on the severity of the reaction.  Whilst the reaction I experienced seemed severe to me, it clearly wasn’t – I’ve seen photos of others who have had much more startling results – so I hope full recovery isn’t too far off. I go back to see my dermatolgist in late February so he can check the healing of my Basal Cell Carcinoma scar and to discuss the Efudex effects. That seems like a long way off at the moment so, in the meantime, I’m going to treat my poor old nose with a little tlc …

  1. July 4, 2012 at 8:24 pm

    thankyou for sharing these photographs of your treatment i to am going through this , found it quite scary when things erupted in places that had no visible signs of damage beforehand,suddenly felt vulnerable.mine is on my nose ,chest and arm and i dont even sunbathe prefer the shade .good luck to you i hope it stays away

    • July 4, 2012 at 10:05 pm

      Hi Maureen. I know exactly what you’re going through. I’ve never been a big sunbather either – I guess we’re just unlucky. I wish you the very best of luck with your treatment. My advice is simply to keep focused on the end result: just remember, the redness is temporary and any reaction simply means the ointment is working. I keep meaning to post an up-to-date photo – my nose is now back to its normal colouring and I’m sure you’ll get a similar result. All the very best. Keep in touch and let me know how you get on. Lisa

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

