Final Efudix day – day 21!

I can’t believe it, my three weeks of applying Efudix is finally over! I’ve just applied my final cream. It feels so weird, having dominated my life so much for the last three weeks.

Luckily, I didn’t get the horrid burning sensation I was expecting each day when applying the Efudix – I literally expected to be crying out as it touched my skin! Ridiculous really, was totally psychological tied up in the fact that I knew it was essentially eating away at any pre-cancerous cells it detected so I expected it to physically burn as I applied it (because this would be evidence that it was working I suppose – as if the hideous redness and scabbing hasn’t been evidence enough!). My nose has felt ever so slightly sore to the touch occassionally but I certainly haven’t felt burning upon application thank goodness.

From tomorrow, I’ve got to apply Vaseline to my nose every day until the Efudix effects dissipate. Hopefully that will be very soothing but I don’t anticipate being able to apply make-up over Vaseline so will either have to hibernate or face up to going out looking burnt and scabby. Watch this space … Oh dear, that sounds so vain.  I need to stop being so and just be grateful that the pre-cancerous cells have been killed off by the Fluorouracil  and I’ll shortly be able to put this whole thing behind me!

Having read other people’s experiences, I don’t think I’m quite out of the woods yet – it would seem that the cream continues to have an effect even after you’ve stopped applying it, but the end is in sight and at least I don’t have to go through the rigmarole of applying it every day. Hoorah!

Final day of Efudix treatment

Efudix treatment ends at long last!

  1. June 20, 2015 at 3:27 am

    I just wanted to let you know that this was really reassuring for me to read – thank you for going to all this effort. I am on day 20 and just treating my nose too, so it’s very comforting to see that my skin looks a whole lot like yours did at the same stage.

    • June 20, 2015 at 8:49 am

      Thanks for your message Linda. It’s not great seeing yourself in the mirror when you go through the treatment, but rest assured the end is in sight. Your skin will soon be back to normal and it will have been worth it. All the very best.

  2. Peggy Holness
    July 14, 2016 at 9:01 pm

    Hello today is day 1 of my treatment for my nose also. Wow after looking on the computer I am scared. I was told to put on twice a day morning and evening 1 hour before bed (I am wondering if I should do sooner than an hour because of the pillow case ect) did you have any problem? Also did you put cream all over your nose? My problem is the bottom towards the tip so I was told don’t just put there cover the nose (I sure don’t want to have to repeat so I want to be sure I am doing right the first time) Any advice would help.

    Thanks,
    Peggy

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

