Day 14 – Another day with Efudix!

I’m starting to get bored of this now. The first thing I think of when I wake up in the morning is how my nose is going to look today, and when I need to apply the dreaded Efudix. And Efudix is also the last thing I think of at night, as I apply my second dose immediately before going to bed. And, of course, it’s always on my mind when planning to go out – am I going to manage to cover up it’s effects with make-up today? do I need to apply sunscreen before going out? should I wear a hat to shield my nose from the sun? … It’s endless – I feel like Efudix is taking over my life. Oh well, only another week to go.

I told someone on the phone today that I’d had a Basal Cell Carcinoma removed and that I was now undergoing follow-up treatment. I mentioned that I was starting to feel self-conscious when out and about and that I was starting to feel a bit sorry for myself. I guess it was a little self-pitying but, I couldn’t believe the response – ‘oh, I had one of those removed from my back and I was back at work the next day. Don’t worry about it’! I was taken aback – I naively thought someone who’d been through it would be more empathic but, clearly not. I suppose different people react in different ways.  Perhaps, as I suspected, the experience is different if the Basal Cell happens to be on a less visible part of your body. Perhaps it was simply a case that the person I was talking to was a man? Like I’ve said before, I’m not particularly vain but, I think that having something on your face is different for a man than a woman: a man will more easily shrug it off and others will ignore it but, it’s just not the same for women.

Anyway, I woke up in the night because my nose was badly itching – it went on for a while and took me a while to get back to sleep. And, I woke up this morning to find the white patches on my nose getting less and less and the redness slowly starting to take over my entire nose. The photos are more clearly showing the boundaries in which I’m applying the Efudix – there’s almost a visible line around my nose.

Found a couple of interesting things on the web today:

14 days of Efudix treatment on nasal Basal Cell Carcinoma

Red line showing clearly where cream is and ISN'T being applied

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

