Efudix day 8 – scab grows!

Well, my scab is coming along nicely!  Has got a bit bigger and yellow and crusty. And itches quite a lot. I’ve got to be really careful not to catch it with my nails as I carefully scratch it.

Efudix follow-up for Basal Cell Carcinoma causes scabbing

My scab takes on a life of its own!

I guess this is normal.  The leaflet that comes with the Efudix says to expect:

  • inflammation
  • swelling
  • possibly some discomfort
  • skin erosion
  • and eventually, healing!

Not sure where scabbing fits in all this but I’ve seen other people’s blogs where they’ve developed sores that have scabbed over so I guess that’s what this is. And, I guess it means worse is to come. I just need to keep reminding myself that, apparently, this is ‘the expected normal response to treatment and shows that the Efudix is working’!

Talking of Efudix, I’ve just realised today that there appear to be two products on the market – one called Efudex (the spelling I’ve been using so far) and EfudIx which is the version I’m using.  Both 5% Fluorouracil cream, it appears that they are simply two slightly different brand names made by different manufacturers.  Oh well, have learnt something new today.

  1. December 21, 2011 at 12:01 am

    I like this blog very much, Its a real nice spot to read and receive information. “Never complain and never explain.” by Benjamin Disraeli.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

