Day 3 with Efudex

Another two treatments with Efudex and still no obvious effects.  I approach each application with trepdidation thinking today’s the day it’s going to sting, so find myself very carefully dabbing the cream on and ever so gently smoothing it out. And, still applying it with Q-tips as though it’s some hideously caustic and toxic substance! Which, I suppose it is in a way – it is going to ‘eat away’ at any pre-cancerous cells it detects and result in some degree of redness/burn. I have to keep reminding myself that that’s exactly what it’s supposed to do and IF I do get stinging and redness, that’s actually a good thing – it’s exactly what the cream should do (as described by my consultant and the cream’s instruction leaflet). And it’s what my partner keeps reminding me. But, knowing that doesn’t make it any easier somehow.

As you can probably tell from my previous posts, I’m a little paranoid about the sun now – don’t want the reaction of the Efudex to be even more severe because I’ve exposed it to sun – so made sure I wore sunscreen and a hat when I went out earlier even though I was out for only a short period of time.

Oh well, let’s just focus on the positive – all’s fine now and , hopefully, going through this treatment will avoid me getting any further Basal Cell Carcinoma’s on my nose in the future. And, tomorrow’s another day…

  1. December 20, 2011 at 10:53 pm

    Just killing some in between class time on Digg and I discovered your article . Not usually what I want to read about, nevertheless it was completely price my time. Thanks.

    • December 21, 2011 at 6:31 pm

      Thank you so much for your comments – I’m so pleased you found my post via Digg. Why not follow my blog to get the latest updates?

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

